African Minerals and Geosciences Centre
Minerals For Development

  • fr-FR
  • English (UK)

The Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia is located in eastern Africa, west of Somalia. Ethiopia has a total area of 1,127,127 sq km with a total population of 73,053,286 (July 2005 est.). Bordering Countries are Djibouti, Eritrea, Kenya, Somalia and Sudan. The Climate of the country is mainly tropical monsoon with wide topographic-induced variation. The terrain of Ethiopia is high plateau with central mountain range divided by Great Rift Valley with elevation extremes of Denakil Depression 125 m below sea level and highest point at Ras Dejen 4,620 m. The capital of Ethiopia is Addis Ababa

The natural resources of Ethiopia include: small reserves of gold, platinum, copper, potash, natural gas, hydropower.